Summer Vacation

Summer Vacations are always special. First of all, you do not have to study for one whole month. You can watch lots of TV, and play as much as you want. You can visit your native place and have lots of fun. Eat Mango.

I have done all that for so many years . I used to wait for my exams to get over. Infact, I used to be so over  excited about coming to Bangalore,  that  I never completed my last paper in final exams.

My ajji (Granny) used to wait eagerly for us to arrive. She was paralyzed and could not get up on her own, so her life was restricted to the bed. But she always asked question about my school, my friends and my studies. I think no kid likes to be reminded of school and studies in summer vacation ( unless of course you are a topper in the school ) so as soon as she finished asking questions, I would give the shortest reply possible and run outside to play with my cousins.

When I came across this story in The Inner Courtyard, it reminded me of my ajji and those carefree days of childhood. Also makes me think of loneliness of the old. Just a simple story that touched my heart…

Summer Vacation

It was always there, as long as I could remember a small, emaciated tree, somewhat bent and with shriveled up branches. That was a summer with no hint of rains. I watched the tree, its leaves, and above the few leaves, the spiders wed hanging from a bare, sickle-shaped branch.

That tree was the only one of its kind, in a field full of coconut palms planted in memory of family ancestors who had been cremated on the southern side of the house. I wondered if it was telling us, ‘I know I should not be here. But please take pity on me. Don’t destroy me.’

I was walking one day with Muthassi – so I called my grandmother- picking up tiny dry miniature coconuts now and then and collecting them in the folds of my skirt. I asked her,

‘What is the name of that lonely tree?’

Muthassi’s eyesight had never been too good, not even in her youth. She blinked once or twice, straining to look in the direction that I pointed. She said, ‘that one’s nyaval tree.”

to be continued……

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ricky
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 14:58:52

    I used to love summer vacations too but hated the homework they would give for next year. I usually would end up doing it in last two days of the vacation.

    I always loved the short stories you would share by typing the whole thing down. This one looks very interesting too 🙂 Looking forward to the next part.

    Reply

  2. chandu
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 17:27:05

    aah how much I wish my company declares summer holidays.. hey wait but we have winter holidays for a week+.. smtn better than nothing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

