kitchen konfession

I was reading Sum’s food blog, and saw the pictures of neer dosa… that inspired me to make dosa in the evening. Ok, so I am a south Indian, but I have hardly ever made idli-dosa. These days I buy batter from Food World and manage to make idlis somehow.. but making dosa is the most difficult task for me.
Earlier, I used to blame my tawa for being too thin.. you need thick old tawa, new non-stick tawa is useless to make nice crisp dosas. At least this is what I used to tell my husband every time I tried to make dosa.
Then I bought the thick tawa.. and I imagined myself making nice round crisp dosas and serving him when they are hot. Well, things didn’t go as I imagined. You see, my dosa batter and tawa fell in love with each other as always. My dosa absolutely refused to leave tawa. I tried various angles from where I can scrape the dosa off the tawa, which ever way its possible. And in the end I manage to feed him bit and pieces of something that tastes like dosa!
So, that’s it. Every dosa equals to 4-5 calls to Amma, lots of fighting ( with tawa ) and end up eating bread-butter or maggie!!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sum
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 11:37:59

    Ha ha ha Preeti!
    U’ve made the post hilarious!

    Well, making dosa is not as difficult as you think it is…. Its one of the easiest, acc to me!
    Some tips:
    – The thickness of tawa does not matter for dosa to come out of tawa – though it may depend on the taste sometimes
    – Non stick tawas are supposedly the best – that is if it is a new one and u’ve not used oil with it
    – For a new tawa, first apply oil thoroughly over the surface; Heat it and cool it. Wash it and repeat the same a couple of times
    – Make sure the batter is not too thin – If it is thicker, the dosa may become a little hard, but it definitely should not stick
    – Apply enough oil before spreading the dosa, till the tawa is seasoned
    – And start with thick dosa till the tawa is seasoned
    – One most important thing – do not use the same tawa for chapathis/rotis and dosas – This is very important, and i got it only at the end 🙂

    With all these, i am sure u can get the best dosas next time…. Happy Dosa-making!!

    Reply

  2. preeti prasad
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 13:40:26

    thanks a lot sum 🙂 I think one of the blunders I commited, is that I used the same tawa for chapati, paratha and dosa 😦
    Another thing is that whenever I go to my aunts’ place,all of them use old thick tawa, so I thought, may be that’s the reason my dosas go wrong.
    I have tried set dosa (2 akki, 1 uddinabele, 1 awalakki, chooru mentye, and suger in the end to get that brown colour) ..it came out ok..but my rava and other dosa are a big flop show 😦
    I will try to follow the guidelines you’ve provided and, and will tell you the results.. thanks a lot again 🙂
    ps: if you can post the recipe of Sandige huli in your food blog, it will be great..

    Reply

  3. Ricky
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 13:50:51

    Oh My God !! You don’t know how to make dosa 😛 My Mom makes a perfect dosa, so when she comes here and makes for me, I will let you know the trick 🙂

    Reply

  4. Ricky
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 13:54:42

    The only thing I know about dosa is how to eat it perfectly…lol. I love dosa’s and idli’d esp. because Mom used to make it almost every Sunday. On my last trip to India, whenever we will go out I will end up eating dosa 😀

    Reply

    • preeti prasad
      Mar 26, 2009 @ 11:28:26

      me too.. I know how to eat dosa perfectly!! Though I am not a very big fan of dosa… but sometime I feel like eating dosa and chatni with garma garam filter coffee. And it’s very easy for those who know how to prepare it, you can keep the batter and make dosa as and when you wish..so that’s one great thing..

      Reply

  5. Juneli
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 16:58:07

    he he he 🙂

    You know what I was thinking to write when I read the first para.

    Call us for dinner but I have changed my mind as soon as I was reaching end of the post …..

    might you would tell me come up with a pack of food for you two too 😉 😛

    Reply

  6. Juneli
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 16:58:46

    You became very activing after joing WordPress… Good good 🙂

    Reply

    • preeti prasad
      Mar 26, 2009 @ 11:36:12

      no yaar.. even though my dosas are a flop show, my cooking is not so bad.. the thing is that, in mumbai, we hardly ever had dosas..mostly it would be some bread item or paratha or poha. I have learnt most of the south Indian cooking only after marriage. I’ve learnt to make basic rice-rasam, other curries, vegetable rice etc. etc. but dosa is something that scares and fascinates me both at the same time.. lol. As you can see Sum has given some guidelines.. let me try them, and one day I will be making crisp dosas….(dreaming )

      Reply

  7. Ricky
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 12:40:07

    Now you are not even a big fan of dosa **faints**

    Reply

    • preeti prasad
      Mar 27, 2009 @ 18:59:13

      I am not a very big fan of dosas, but there are certain places where I can not resist dosas… My uncle makes the best ever masala-dosa..crisp.. golden brown…lots of home made butter on it..and potato bhaji filling inside.. of course,the yummy cutney..also dosas at one place called Vidyarthi Bhavan in Bangalore…

      Reply

  8. Ricky
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 10:25:55

    I also like Panner Dosa…am not sure if its available in South but its a big hit in Dilli 😀

    Reply

  9. hema
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 23:31:39

    Hi Preethi!!! Good to see you back with blogging. Welcome back *hugs* 🙂

    Reply

  10. chandu
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 18:51:56

    hot hot “Dosa Discussions” going on here!?? I have another super duper technique Pleeti auntly

    1. Prepare batter and heat the tawa
    2. Make sure you spill some water on it and let P hear the sound
    3. Pour a little oil and sprinkle some water (makes good sound)
    4. Switch on the mixie and make some sound, while it’s running…
    4. Jump out of the window, run to the nearest hotel, buy 3 dosas. come back home running so that your sweat looks natural!
    5. Jump in thru the window (remember that nescafe/sunrise commercial ?) serve them to P..

    Result:
    1. P thinks you are the “Distress of Dosas.. oops ..Mistress of Dosas”, if not Aish.
    2. A good run to the nearby hotel makes you look slimmer
    3. You can ignore all those jumbled, confusing, no-order instructions by sum

    Request:
    Don’t go to same hotel again and again, P might get suspicious of “consistent taste”.

    Reply

  11. preeti prasad
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 15:37:10

    Chandu uncle,
    – Even if I want to jump from my kitchen window, its impossible as it has got bars fixed on it ( i don’t know why )
    – the nearest hotel serves dosa that is equally bad, so why waste my money?
    -why don’t u start a food blog??? 😛

    Reply

  12. Rohini
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 09:37:34

    hehehe :-))

    Dosa blues eh?…
    I hvn’t tried my hands at making dosas yet..will have to see how it comes out 😛

    BTW I too hv a tip for you…

    Spread the oil on tawa using broader side of a half cut onion..:P it doesn’t make dosa stick to the pan…try it and tel me if it works 😉

    Reply

    • preeti prasad
      Apr 10, 2009 @ 14:19:14

      Hi Ron, Welcome to my blog:D
      You have plenty of time to try dosa, actually you should have someone on whom you can experiment bindaas..once you are married, you know that your husband can not refuse to eat whatever you cook.. lol.
      So, in a few months we’ll be reading your cooking experiments in your blog, is it?

      Reply

  13. chandu
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 11:05:37

    food blog n me.. all hotels close to my home r equally bad, tough to click pics of those items and show off in my blog. On the other hand I am lazy enough to eat them than to write about them..

    Reply

  14. Sum
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 16:41:05

    Ha ha ha… Good suggestion Chandu!
    i agree with Preeti that u too should start a food blog! (i mean how to eat-food blog :P)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

